Food and Drink

The Veg Life

I may have missed the boat for New Years’ resolutions or giving something up for Lent but, amidst the recent outrage about what really goes in our food, I’ve started to think: do I need to eat meat?

My recent decision to try vegetarianism is a very personal decision and, though in part sparked by the horse-meat scandal, has been a long time coming. In fact, a lot of my friends are vegetarians – friends who enjoy their food as much as I do – so I armed myself with a few mouth-watering recipes and took the plunge!

So I thought I’d share one of my first favourite recipes, perfect for a light lunch or a starter at dinner.

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms with Goats Cheese and Roasted Tomatoes

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

The recipe I followed is available at A Food Centric Life and is easy and fairly quick to follow! I simply served mine with a side of rocket, spinach and chard salad with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing.

Enjoy!

 

9 thoughts on “The Veg Life

  1. I’ve been vegetarian all my life and I’m constantly bombarded with the “how do you do it?” questions and the “Ooh I could never give up meat” comments. I think people underestimate the variety of things a healthy, balanced veggie diet can include. Even if you can’t jump straight into vegetarianism straight away, you could do something like ‘meat-free-mondays’ (a favourite among one of my good friends).
    Good luck, and I hope you’re enjoying it!

    http://www.kinglilith.wordpress.com

    • I’m so surprised by the reactions I’ve received when people have found out! But I’m actually finding it so much easier than I thought – the only thing I’ve missed so far is sausage rolls, but I bought some yum linda mccartney veggie ones (:

    • certainly was delicious – I love goat’s cheese and mushrooms, so this was a total indulgence :) thanks for stopping by – very intrigued by your blog too!

Leave a Reply

