Literature

The Summer Reading List

Completing an internship during exams at university meant I was so busy last term that I frequently questioned my sanity – hence the sparse blog postings, and my personal tragic lack of reading time. And although I am glad that my summer holidays have gloriously opened up before me, it is a little sad (though also very exciting!) to think that this may well be my last ever true, weeks merging into weeks of seemingly unending freedom, carefree “summer holiday”.

To mark the occasion, I am compiling my own “Summer Reading List”, including a few of those books I’ve had on my shelf for a bit too long, as well some reading for my (I can’t believe I’m saying this) *final* year of university. Once I’ve read each one I will post a book review.

The Summer Reading List (so far):

  • The Song of Achilles (Madeline Miller)
  • All the Beggars Riding (Lucy Caldwell)
  • The Fault in our Stars (John Green)
  • The Invisible Man (Ralph Ellison)
  • Beloved (Toni Morrison)

The Summer Reading List will develop over time and I would love to hear your opinions about what I should/shouldn’t be reading, so don’t hesitate to make some suggestions of your own!

You can read my first review in this series, of Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles, here.

2 thoughts on “The Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

